To administer justice fairly, efficiently, effectively, and to provide excellent customer service.
Court Appearances - In Person
Municipal Court is located on the first floor of City Hall. All court sessions begin promptly at 8 AM, in person, each Tuesday. Juvenile sessions are on the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of the month with a parent or guardian, unless listed below.
The court will not be in session on: August 29, September 5, November 21, or December 26, 2023.
- To contact the Municipal Court via email, please send a message to firstname.lastname@example.org
- To contact the Municipal Court via phone, please call 970-384-6530
- Office hours are Monday through Thursday from 7:30 AM until 5:30 PM
Payment of fines is due on the day of court. Short term payment contracts may be arranged on the day of Court, however, there is an additional $25 contract fee.
The Court accepts cash, check, money order, credit/debit card, and online payments through CitePayUSA (there is a fee for this service). Make online payments using CitePayUSA.
Returned checks will incur an additional $25 fee.
Types of Cases Handled in Municipal Court
Misdemeanor Criminal Cases, Traffic Offenses, Parking and Code Violations issued by the Glenwood Springs Police Department. The maximum penalty for any summons in this Court is a $2,650 fine and/or 364 days in jail. Please review the City's Municipal Code for a more detailed description of the types of cases handled and possible penalties. Citations issued by the State Patrol, Garfield County Sheriff, as well as some specific City Police matters, are heard at the Garfield County Combined Courts. Your citation will state where you are to appear.
You must respond to the parking citation within seven days of the date of violation. You may pay the fine, or request a Court date. Failure to pay the fine or set a date to dispute the citation will result in additional fees being added to the fine, and/or a summons and complaint being issued for you. Most parking citations are issued for Downtown Restricted Parking. The majority of downtown Glenwood is two-hour parking.
Penalty Assessment Citations
If you opt to pay the fine, payment must be received by the 20th day to be eligible for a point reduction. If you fail to pay by the 20th day, you have until the Court date listed on the citation to pay the fine, however, the full amount of points listed on the citation will be assessed against your Colorado Driver License. Please review the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles page with further questions regarding point reductions. You may also choose to appear on the Court date listed on your citation.
If you received a summons to appear in Court, you must appear at the date and time listed on the citation. If you live out of the area, please call the court and set up a telephone advisement. Failure to appear will result in a Bench Warrant being issued for your arrest.
Your Day in Court
You will need to check in at the Municipal Court window by the time listed on your citation. Once you check in, you will be given two forms. The first form is an Advisement of Rights. It is very important to understand your rights for Court. The document has been written in terms that are easy to understand, however, if you have questions, you may ask them when your case is called. If you would like to review the form prior to Court, you may view them below.
The second form is Information about Meeting with the City Prosecutor. Once you have read both forms, you will bring them back to the Court window and if you choose to meet with the Prosecutor, your case will be placed in line. He will call you out of the Courtroom when he is ready to discuss your case. If you opt not to speak with the Prosecutor, your file will be called by the Judge.
If you choose to plead Not Guilty, your matter will be set for trial, at the earliest opportunity, usually within 4-6 weeks. Please review the Your Day in Court materials to assist with the procedures.